ELPUB 2018 marks the 22nd edition of the International Conference in ELectronic PUBlishing and the 10th anniversary of the meeting being held in Toronto. ELPUB has featured research results in various aspects of digital publishing for over two decades, involving a diverse international community of librarians, developers, publishers, entrepreneurs, administrators and researchers across the disciplines in the sciences and the humanities. It is unique as a platform for both researchers, professionals and the broader community. The Conference is held annually and contains a multi-track presentation of refereed papers as well as invited keynotes, special sessions, demonstrations, and poster presentations. The entire collection of conference papers since its inception is available in the ELPUB Digital Library.

The theme of ELPUB 2018 is Connecting the Knowledge Commons: From Projects to Sustainable Infrastructure. The question of sustainability in the open access movement has been widely debated, yet satisfactory answers have yet to be generated.

How do we move from an approach entirely based on temporary projects to an approach based on community-based sustainable infrastructure?

What kinds of social and technical infrastructures could support the Knowledge Commons?

What values and services are being delivered, by which stakeholders, and for whom?

What governance and financial models are possible?

Given the global nature of scholarly communication, how do we ensure that the designs of the Commons are inclusive of voices from the global South?

Conference Co-Chairs

  • Leslie Chan, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Pierre Mounier, Open Edition / OPERAS

Local Organizing Committee

  • Leslie Chan, University of Toronto Scarborough
  • Pierre Mounier, Open Edition / OPERAS
  • Dora Chan, Conference Manager, [email protected]
  • Jen Booth, Georgian College
  • Leslie Regan Shade, Faculty of Information, University of Toronto
  • Kathleen Scheaffer, Faculty of Information, University of Toronto

Program Committee

  • Juan Pablo Alperin, Simon Fraser University, Canada
  • Subbiah Arunachalam, DST Centre for Policy Science, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Dominique Babini, Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales/Latin American Council of Social Sciences (CLACSO)
  • Serge Bauin, Centre national de la recherche scientifique/National Center for Scientific Research (NCSR), France
  • Christine Berthaud, CNRS – CCSD, France
  • Jen Booth, Georgian College, Canada
  • William R. Bowen, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Marin Dacos, CLEO, Centre for Open Electronic Publishing, France
  • Jan Engelen, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Guy Geltner, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Elena Giglia, University of Turin, Italy
  • Jean Claude Guédon, Université de Montréal, Canada
  • Danny Kingsley, Cambridge University Library, United Kingdom
  • Delfim Leão, Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
  • Peter Linde, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Fernando Loizides, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
  • Paolo Manghi, Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologie dell’Informazione/Institute of Information Science and Technologies (ISTI-CNR), Italy
  • Cameron Neylon, Centre for Culture and Technology, Curtin University, Australia
  • Angela Okune, University of California, Irvine, United States
  • Pandelis Perakakis, Universidad Loyola Andalucía, Spain
  • Panayiota Polydoratou, Alexander Technological Educational Institute of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Ernesto Priego, City, University of London, United Kingdom
  • Leslie Regan Shade, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Laurent Romary, Institut National de Recherche en Informatique et en Automatique/French National Institute for computer science and applied mathematics (INRIA) & HUB-ISDL, France
  • Birgit Schmidt, Goettingen State and University Library, University of Goettingen, Germany
  • Joachim Schöpfel, University of Lille 3, France
  • Raed Sharif, International Development Research Centre (IDRC), Canada
  • Kathleen Shearer, Confederation of Open Access Repositories (COAR), Canada
  • Jadranka Stojanovski, University of Zadar, Croatia
  • Hussein Suleman, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  • Yaşar Tonta, Hacettepe University, Ankara, Turkey

Executive Committee

  • Ana Alice Baptista, University of Minho, Portugal
  • Leslie Chan, University of Toronto, Canada
  • Sely Costa, University of Brasilia, Brazil
  • Jan Engelen, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
  • Peter Linde, Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden
  • Fernando Loizides, University of Wolverhampton, UK
  • Panayiota Polydoratou, Alexander Technological Education Institute of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Birgit Schmidt, University of Göttingen, Germany
  • Yasar Tonta, Hacettepe University, Turkey